Established by Serbian immigrants from the Cabramatta area of south-west Sydney, their primary supporter base has been the local Serbian community. Its most famous products are former Socceroo Milan Blagojevic, current Socceroos Milos Degenek and Danny Vuković, as well as Young Socceroo and former Melbourne Heart defender David VrankovićAleksandar Janković was manager of Red Star Belgrade twice. Former Brisbane Roar defender Milan Susak played a major role in Ange Postecoglou’s Premiership and Championship winning side.

The club was established in 1968 as the Avala Sports Club, named after the Avala mountain in Serbia. In 1977, Avala was promoted to the New South Wales Premier League and competed in the top level of New South Wales soccer until 1986.

After a two-year absence from the New South Wales Premier League which included a New South Wales Winter Super League Premiership-Championship double in 1988, Avala’s strong performances in the State Leagues and their strong crowd attendances didn’t go unnoticed and they were offered the opportunity to be a part of the National Soccer League; however they declined due to poor administration within the Soccer Australia sector and the large financial burden it would place on the club, with many other clubs within the league at the time financially struggling. Avala returned to top flight action in 1989, undergoing a name change to Bonnyrigg White Eagles after the 1992 season, and remained in the Top Division until 2006.

After picking up both a premiership and championship over the next three seasons in the Super League, in 2009 Bonnyrigg was once again promoted to the New South Wales Premier League, playing in the highest league in New South Wales. They quickly picked up more honours by claiming their 4th and 5th New South Wales Premier League Premierships and Club Championships in the 2010 and 2012 seasons respectively, also suffering grand final defeats in the 20052010 and 2012 seasons. They won the championship for a third time in the 2013 NSW Premier League season and for a fourth time in 2015.

Whilst competing in the NSW Premier League the club has claimed five Premierships and three Championships. Under Brian Brown the club has achieved three Premierships respectively in 2010, 2012 and 2014 alongside two Championships in 2013 defeating the Rockdale City Suns at Penrith Stadium in front of over 8000 spectators thanks to a solitary goal from Former Adelaide United Striker Robbie Younis. The club continued their Championship winning feat in 2015 with a 2–0 victory of arch rivals Blacktown City at Leichhardt Oval in-front of a crowd of 3000. The club also reached the 2010 and 2012 NSW Premier League Grand Finals but lost to Blacktown City and Marconi Stallions respectively.

In 2016, Bonnyrigg White Eagles qualified for the FFA Cup round of 32 after beating Parramatta FC in the final qualification round. This was Bonnyrigg’s debut appearance in the final rounds of the Cup.


Bonnyrigg’s most notable achievements include;

  • League:
    • NSW Premier League Championship (x4): 1992, 2001, 2013, 2015
    • NSW Premier League Premiership (x6): 1992, 1998, 1999, 2010, 2012, 2014
    • NSW Premier League Championship Runners Up (x6): 1997, 1998, 2000, 2005, 2010, 2012
    • NSW Premier League Premiership Runners Up (x4): 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005
    • NSW Premier League Club Championship (x3): 2005, 2010, 2012
    • NSW Super League Club Championship (x1): 2008
    • NSW Super League Championship (x3) :1976, 1988, 2007
    • NSW Super League Premiership (x3): 1976, 1988, 2008
    • NSW Super League Premiership Runners Up (x1): 2007
    • NSW Division One Champions (x1) : 1973
  • Cup
    • National Premier Leagues Cup Runners Up (x1): 2014
    • Ampol Cup Winners (x1): 1977
    • Waratah Cup (x2): 1992, 2004
    • Waratah Cup Runners Up (x1): 1991
    • Johnny Warren Cup Winners (x2): 2003, 2005
    • NSW Continental Tyres Cup Runners Up (x1): 2004
    • White Eagles Cup Runners Up (x1): 2012
    • Karadjordje Cup Winners (x4): 1992, 1993, 1995, 2000
    • Karadjordje Cup Runners-Up (x5): 1988, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1996